Influential people

The title might goad you into thinking that this is an article about influential people like Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King or other famous people. It’s not about them. It’s about the other “influential” people. The regular people in our lives. The people that inspire us, shape us, mold us and direct us towards something. we meet them in different walks of lives, in different places, different times. Some of them stay,some leave. Some we love, some we hate. Whatever maybe the case, you cannot deny the fact that these people stand out from the others and that they have influenced your life in a major or minor way.

It has happened with me in several points of life. I remember people that have taught me something or the other, made me better in a way, looked out for me or taught me to look out for myself. The first such person I met was a girl back in school. She was fun and we got along like long lost friends. I used to be a really shy, timid guy back then. I think she helped me realize that I could friendly, that it was ok to let out whatever was trapped in your heart. She taught me to not care about the what the world thought about me, but to live the way I wanted to. After that I changed, became stronger, more social. She is one among the list of many others. And I am pretty sure that no matter how far I go from them, no matter how much time passes I would never totally forget any of them.

You, could probably call this is a sign of weakness. A sign of irresolute mind or a guy who seems to see his destiny or path in the actions or directions. I don’t think that is the case. I think part of me already knows where to go , it’s determined, steady but it’s need to be reminded. It’s like a guy stuck in a dark chamber, it knows it has to reach the light, but it doesn’t know how, it needs an arrow a sign to show it the way. That is why I don’t think this is a sign of weakness, I think it’s a sign of being human, to commit mistakes, to have your heartbroken, but also to learn to pick ourselves up, to mend and to tend to the injuries both physical and emotional.

I think, that a person’s life isn’t shaped just by the circumstances he thrives in and his will, but also by the people he meets along the way. The ultimate decision is always yours, the goal in some ways is always set or maybe it should be, but people they do affect us and in a way they should, i think. People like those, they stay in our minds, dormant over time, the memories going weaker and  weaker as time passes by, but like a carbon 14 isotope, decreasing yet never truly forgotten never extinct.

Leave a Reply

