Goodbye

We have known each other far too long
A generation, a decade strong
Even in moments that we were apart
I still had you in my palpating heart

Every time our eyes meet
How brief or long it’s been
My heart still skips a beat
It demands to be loved and seen

I am in love with you
Head to toe, absolute and true
But you aren’t with me
Our union it’s not to be

I tried my best to buy your heart
Tried to begin, a start, our start
Love is not bought but earned
That I now have learned

Around you I can no longer stay
Aghast I must fly away
I must search for my dream
A fish following the river’s stream

I ‘ll always cherish what we had
The memories good and bad
I know now We are not for each other
And so I must say Goodbye, my dear

Leave a Reply

